ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Proper 16-235 becomes 30-218 when uploaded on Youtube

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David StutzmannProper 16-235 becomes 30-218 when uploaded on Youtube
by on Dec 12, 2015 at 4:55:01 pm

Hello everyone,

I’m new to color management and after one week of watching tutorials, searching forums and running tests, I feel completely lost.

I use After effect and Premiere pro on Windows 7.

I color corrected my video in premiere pro, which uses a 0-255 luma range if I’m correct.
Then I export it as H264 .mp4, import it in After Effect and set the color space to Rec. 709 (16-235). I rectify the contrast a little bit, save and use Media encoder to encode the video as H264 .mp4. When I watch it with Media Player Classic, it looks exactly as in the preview so everything is ok so far.

At that point, here are the specs of the video:

Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Main@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 2s 0ms
Bit rate : 63.8 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 fps
Standard : PAL
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.003
Stream size : 15.6 KiB (15%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2015-12-12 13:50:35
Tagged date : UTC 2015-12-12 13:50:35
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

However, when I try to upload it on Youtube, pure black, which was 16, becomes 30 and pure white, which was 235, becomes 218.