ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE Mac/PC/HACK!?!?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jonathan LutjensAE Mac/PC/HACK!?!?
by on Dec 2, 2015 at 7:44:45 pm

Long time listener, first time caller. Sort of.
So, I've been working as a "motion designer" for about 15 years now. I cut my teeth on After Effects, Maya, and Final Cut, but these days I spend most of my time in AE, C4D, and Premiere, with some Illustrator and Photoshop thrown in for good measure.
I've tried to keep up to date and informed on current and pertinent hardware knowledge, but at the end of the day I'm just not a gear head. I know enough to troubleshoot some problems and I'm pretty sure I won't melt down my machine by sticking something where it doesn't belong, but I prioritize my free time for exercising the creative muscle and getting more familiar with software.
So, (this is dragging on) I have a couple of questions.

1-Where can one find some serious and comprehensive (yet layman friendly) testing data for hardware setups and the corresponding performance with particular software? At best, I seem to find mostly testing that relates to specific components (graphics cards or processors) rather than systems. This may not exist, but I thought it likely that someone on here would know if it does.

2-Does anyone know of some small to mid-size operations that are building custom machines, either PC or Hackintosh? I currently run a Hackintosh which I'm pretty happy with. I've got a friend who knows way more about machines than me, but he doesn't have much knowledge of post-production software. As we put these machines together, we find ourselves kind of lost as to how to get the best performance. I would gladly pay some money for the expertise of someone who understands how certain software utilizes hardware and how to build a computer for optimal performance.