ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects Machine Specs

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stephen OngAfter Effects Machine Specs
by on Nov 20, 2015 at 2:27:24 pm

Ok I'm upgrading my hardware, I've been working on a MacBook Pro (16GB top end) for the past year and I think I'm slowly killing it with the amount of After Effects work I've been doing.

So as a Mac user switching to PC I'm a noob, but here's what I've put together...
Any advice / recommendations would be great,

Processor - Intel® Xeon® 8-Core E5-2640V3 (2.6 GHz, 8.00 GT/s, 20M L3 Cache)
Motherboard - ASUS® X99-A: ATX, HSW-E CPU, USB 3.0, SATA 6 GB/s
Memory - 64GB HyperX FURY DDR4 2133MHz (8 x 8GB)
Graphics Card - PNY QUADRO K620 - 2GB GDDR3, 384 CUDA Cores - 1 x DP, 1 x DVI
2 x 240GB HyperX SAVAGE SSD, SATA 6 Gb/s (upto 560MB/sR | 530MB/sW)
Raid 0 Stripped
CORSAIR 650W CS SERIES™ MODULAR 80 PLUS® GOLD, ULTRA QUIET

A few questions I have..
Can I use my old SSD external cache with this machine, its a Lacie Little Big Disks I currently have thunderbolt so will using a USB instead just negate the point in it. Storage drives also thunderbolt Lacie rugged, what will I need to connect?

Does the Raid 0 stripped make much of a difference to Ae work?

Is that graphics card ok with Ae, I wasn't thinking i'd need to go overboard there, I use C4D very occasionally.

How do i get HDMI in to that graphics card, or should i just use the PC connections for my monitor, are they better refresh rate?

I have more cash to spend but didnt want to overkill, this is coming in at £2k, I'd maybe push up to £3k.
I work with a lot of 2D stuff, Duik rigs, character animation and typography, not much in terms of crazy effects. Use C4D a bit too.

Return to posts index

Cassius MarquesRe: After Effects Machine Specs
by on Nov 20, 2015 at 7:03:26 pm