ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Time remap issue - losing rotation animation in a nested element

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shaun Ng
Time remap issue - losing rotation animation in a nested element
on Nov 15, 2015 at 6:05:48 pm

Hi all. Thanks for viewing this thread.

I am fairly new to After Effects (but not to Adobe products). I have been playing around with Video Copilot tutorials and have just finished the earth zoom tutorial (http://www.videocopilot.net/tutorials/earth_zoom). It's a great tutorial and worked well, however I decided to make some adjustments to it. Namely, instead of using a screen grab of the earth from Google Earth, I used an earth map and an atmospheric clouds map and used the CC Sphere effect in AE to create an earth and atmosphere that continues to rotate after the animation has completely zoomed out. Of note, the earth and the atmospheric clouds are in their own comps where I have animated their rotations in the CC Sphere box. They are nested in my main Zoom comp and I have the Zoom comp inside a Time Remap comp (where I've also done the slider expression and added sound). I hope that's clear.

My problem:
In order to make the entire zooming sequence ease in and out properly, I had to time remap the Zoom composition (with all of the layers, including the earth and atmospheric clouds nested comps) and set those start and end keyframes to easy ease. But, since I have set it up so that the earth and atmospheric clouds continue to rotate AFTER the zoom, it has caused some keyframing issues, in that the earth and clouds gradually slow down as per the easy ease and then gradually start up to rotate afterwards to complete the rotations. This is obviously not a very realistic look.