ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Text "Vibration" and old style movement

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Giovanni BinariText "Vibration" and old style movement
by on Nov 2, 2015 at 8:31:35 am

I'm not an expert of After Effects and videoediting so my question may have a really simple solution. I would like to type texts in overlay on my video (and this is basic) and then make them "vibrate", move millimetrically like if it was a 1930 video effect. I don't need any filters to make them look old. I just need to give them the moving effect. It also need to be reusable in any moment of my timeline and for any text object.

I can give you a link to a video in which a man uses this effect an all of his text. As you can see, the movement is always the same.

Thank you for the attention

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Text "Vibration" and old style movement
by on Nov 2, 2015 at 3:40:36 pm

Looks like he used a preset to bring in his text that enables 3D, then added a 3D camera to the composition. Finally, a small wiggle expression is added to the position of the cam to create the movement. To do that, twirl open the camera's position property, alt_click the stopwatch and add: wiggle(3,10)

3 = times it wiggles per second.
10 = distance it moves.

Then just adjust those numbers to taste.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Giovanni BinariRe: Text "Vibration" and old style movement
by on Nov 2, 2015 at 10:01:22 pm

Thank you all, very clear! I managed to recreate the effect!

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Text "Vibration" and old style movement
by on Nov 2, 2015 at 4:37:25 pm