ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Compositing a 3D Aircraft Carrier - Doesn't Blend...Tips??

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Micah ConradCompositing a 3D Aircraft Carrier - Doesn't Blend...Tips??
by on Oct 7, 2015 at 5:01:09 am

Hey everyone. So for a film I'm working on, we are trying to put an aircraft carrier out into this bay. We bought a very high quality model from turbosquid (http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/uss-ronald-reagan-cvn-76-3d-model/491281), matched the lighting of the scene within after effects, color corrected it, and added layers of fog/atmosphere.

Unfortunately, there's still something off about it. Within Element 3D V2, I added a matte shadow so we would get that slight shadow interaction on the water, as well as a subtle reflection.

I'm fairly new to compositing full 3D elements in After Effects, so if any of you see something that I missed I would greatly appreciate it. Trying to figure out why it stands out like it does... Link provided below!

Much thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: Compositing a 3D Aircraft Carrier - Doesn't Blend...Tips??
by on Oct 7, 2015 at 6:26:40 am

Overall it looks pretty good, however I had the same feeling that something is off. The more I looked at it the more it seemed that it looked like a toy in a pond - I think that the reflection in the water is too big for the size of the carrier and the distance it's supposed to be at. At that distance and size, the reflection should be blending in the shadow. Take a look at this video of the Nimitz for reference:

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Kalle KannistoRe: Compositing a 3D Aircraft Carrier - Doesn't Blend...Tips??
by on Oct 7, 2015 at 2:24:45 pm