ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Moving pre-comps around in a timeline with a duration change.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kris RostMoving pre-comps around in a timeline with a duration change.
by on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:34:11 pm

Obviously I am really new to After Effects and I did try googling this question. I read Adobe's pre-comp doc and I still cannot find my answer. Macbook OS 10.10.5 After Effects 2015 0.1

I was tasked to make a simple (HA!) animation... 30 sec.
Today"they"added a simple voice over audio... which is now 40 seconds long and rearrange things I had already completed. I had half the scenes (375:750 frames) roughed out and pre-comped into groups to manage the files...

Please tell me how to re-assign, on the timeline and move around, the clever pre-comps and sync itl to the audio.

I imported the audio into the project staging area and copied it to the composition and it plays nicely with the 1st draft which now is too short. I added time by changing the composition settings... on each pre comp? right?

Then when I moved the beginning pre-comp cleverness to the end of the timeline (by opening the pre-comp "folder" and selecting all the layers and dragging them to the end) the goodies did not show up where I want it. undo undo undo

Can you please tell me, or supply links to specifically address this: rearrange finished pre-comps on the timeline, sync with the voice-over and finish this up by Friday? world peace?

Do I need to start over and import everything individually _no pre-compness_, into a new composition?
Or is there some master magic that can be done to work with what I have.

A link to ideal file management for After Effects projects would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!
Cheers!

Return to posts index

Kalle KannistoRe: Moving pre-comps around in a timeline with a duration change.
by on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:53:10 am