ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Color correcting 1984 VHS footage

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Robby CuenotColor correcting 1984 VHS footage
by on Sep 20, 2015 at 5:17:19 am

Hello everyone,

It's my first time posting at CC, and I am absolutely a beginner when it comes to video editing. I've done some work in After Effects for school projects and small special effect videos, but never anything relating to video accuracy.

The video I am dealing with is a VHS recording of my parents' wedding from 1984. I have already ripped the video to my computer using a Black Magic Intensity, and am working with the 8-Bit Uncompressed file. The quality is actually much better than I expected for such an old tape, but the colors in the video are very inaccurate. The whole film has a blue/green tint to it, and all of the highlights are a very vibrant green. Some sample images will be shown below, as well as a link to 4 small clips of the video (98MB total - RAR).

My question: Is correcting the color on something like this even possible? I am not looking for perfection, just a way to make the color shift less noticeable. And if it is possible, what would be the best way to do it? I have fiddled with Color Finesse, but can't seem to get anywhere close to a realistic color scheme. Also, there are several different scenes, so I have a feeling that each venue will need fine tuned (church, outside, reception).

If anyone has any answers or suggestions I am all ears :)

Video Samples:

Return to posts index

Chris WrightRe: Color correcting 1984 VHS footage
by on Sep 20, 2015 at 5:10:45 pm

1. AE's shadow/highlight filter will bring up the exposure geometrically
2. color finesse had a grey point eye dropper. that will set the white balance.
3. then use curves to remove the tints. set its transfer mode to color.