ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

MOCHA AE dancing / flickering result in After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rene Brokop
MOCHA AE dancing / flickering result in After Effects
on Sep 5, 2015 at 7:23:17 pm

Hi everyone

I really hope someone can help me out here — it is getting a bit frustrating. I hope it is because i am a bit of a novice when it comes to tracking and someone can say to me; 'Hey — you just forgot about that button. Push that, and it works.'

Here is my problem. The result of my tracking in After Effects is dancing around, making these small tiny flickers. Try to see the result here:

The icon on his forehead is somehow ok in it's following of his movement, but it looks weird and not 'realistic' when it flickers all the time.

Here is what i have tried so far:

1) Removed the Anchor Point animation and made a 'reset'
2) Tried switching off "Position" and "Scale"
3) I have tried it with {x} in 'perspective in Mocha for AE and made the layers in After Effects 3D
4) I have tracked the camera in After Effects and created a camera based on that
5) I have tried to stabilize the footage, but that didn't go well….

In Mocha for After Effects it 'jumps' a bit, but i don't feel it is THAT much as the result in After Effects shows.
Try to look at a screen recording i did of the tracking part:

I really hope someone can help me out here. It seems ilke i am missing some basic knowhow when it comes to tracking.

Looking forward to hear your response.

// Brokop

Return to posts index

Marc Nibor
Re: MOCHA AE dancing / flickering result in After Effects
on Sep 5, 2015 at 8:10:36 pm

It's quite hard to tell, looking at your example. But it looks like you made the mistake almost everyone makes when using mocha for the first time.

Was your cursor (timeslider) at the correct position when you pasted the keyframes?