ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Depth ripple with action script (following Null object)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lamar DaughmaDepth ripple with action script (following Null object)
by on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:39:15 am

ok, so i have a logo comprised of 27 segments and i have music i have synced to soundkeys. now i want a ripple effect following the Z Axis (forward and back, just in case im wrong) so as the layers are further out they go backwards and seeing as i dont want to affect the x,y axis i decided the best option would be a null object. can someone help with this please. i am new to Action script and dont really know the syntax, although in not new to coding so it shouldent be too hard to learn but if im very honest im lost and have no idea what to do, i went in too deep as it were xD.

any help with this would be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Kalle KannistoRe: Depth ripple with action script (following Null object)
by on Aug 29, 2015 at 9:31:05 am
Last Edited By Kalle Kannisto on Aug 29, 2015 at 9:31:40 am

Checking that I understand correctly: you have the null object already linked to Soundkeys output, and you have 27 different AE 3D layers would like to move with the null, but each with an increasing delay as the z-distance increases so that the motion will "ripple" through the layers? And the motion is also along the z-axis, so that the layers move back and forth to the sound of the beat (at the frontmost layer) and as a ripple through the rest?

1) If there was no delay, it would be extremely easy: you would type "value + " and pick-whip the null position, and do this for each layer's position expression