ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Layer Management and Text Layer Troubles

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Owen Liotti
Layer Management and Text Layer Troubles
on Aug 24, 2015 at 12:56:46 am

Hi all,
I'm extremely new to After Effects and decided to get into it to make lyric videos/motion graphics videos for my YouTube channel and for my portfolio.

I used to use Sony Vegas Pro 13 for all my editing needs, but a lot of Vegas' features pale in comparison to AE.

I made a few motion graphics videos in Vegas, and there is something where you can have multiple text boxes on one layer, useful for videos with a lot of words needed onscreen. However, I've noticed that I can't do this in AE and I'm ending up with a different layer for each word, which is extremely inefficient and is lagging my program.

So how do I manage my layers so that I don't have to make a new layer for each word in a kinetic typography-type video?

Return to posts index

Kalle Kannisto
Re: Layer Management and Text Layer Troubles
on Aug 24, 2015 at 8:50:09 am

You can keyframe the source text value. That way you can reuse the same layer for any number of animations, needing just a couple of layers.

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:04:55 pm

If you're new to After Effects, I'd recommend the following link, in which Adobe's Todd Kopriva pulls together some important introductory materials:
http://blogs.adobe.com/toddkopriva/2010/01/getting-started-with-after-eff.h...

I'd mention that Ae is capable of handling hundreds of layers, but that Ae, even with just a handful of layers, is not real-time.

Walter Soyka
Designer & Mad Scientist at Keen Live [link]
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
@keenlive [twitter]   |   RenderBreak [blog]   |   Profile [LinkedIn]

Return to posts index

Darby Edelen
on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:12:24 pm