ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Advice with REALLY bad green spill on color graded footage

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Don StroudAdvice with REALLY bad green spill on color graded footage
by on Aug 23, 2015 at 6:44:14 pm

Disclaimer: I'm relatively new to AE, but after several months I know enough to be dangerous... to myself.

So I'm working on some footage that was handed to me recently. It's several shots of people working on monitors that have a green screen graphic displayed on them, not a green screen fabric or paper overlay. So the actors sitting 18 inches from these monitors have the mother of all green spill on their faces. So much so that, when I apply Keylight, giant chunks of their faces disappear in the keying. I guess, technically, there's no spill at that point... because it all goes away!

I'm aware of mattes and things like that, but... I'm looking at matting the curves of a profile, animated, over the course of several seconds per shot. There has to be a different way.

So my question is: how do you key the monitor without removing the details of the faces, so that I can then apply the spill removal?

Thanks in advance for your help/tips/tricks/advice!

My setup: AE CS5.5, Macbook Pro with OS X Yosemite

Return to posts index

Spencer TweedRe: Advice with REALLY bad green spill on color graded footage
by on Aug 23, 2015 at 7:52:40 pm

Hey Don,

It's a little bit unclear to me weather you need help with the key or the spill... I'll give you advice for both and maybe I can help you out!