ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

SGI files/color space (management) questions/export settings

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bob WilsonSGI files/color space (management) questions/export settings
by on Aug 21, 2015 at 7:46:02 am

Hello everyone!

I'm going to start by saying that I'm very new to After Effects and I'm still learning the ropes :)

A couple of years ago, I had a 3D generalist do some work for me for my short film. He handed over his shots in SGI format and I couldn't figure out how to get them to work with Adobe Premiere (which was being used to cut the film)

So, here are my questions

-Even if I load in the SGI files into After Effects raw, what export setting (web, blu-ray etc) would I choose to keep the quality of the work? As great as the QT I created looks, I feel that it doesn't have the beauty of the SGI files.

-Editing in After Effects is cumbersome isn't designed for quick cuts etc so I'll need to export to another video format? What would you suggest?

I'm not well versed in this area and it seems to be quite difficult to find the answers online which is why I'm so confused.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Return to posts index

Bob WilsonRe: SGI files/color space (management) questions/export settings
by on Aug 21, 2015 at 7:48:09 am

I forgot my color management question:

What's the difference between REC 709 and REC 709 16-235?

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: SGI files/color space (management) questions/export settings
by on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:16:12 pm

[Bob Wilson] "A couple of years ago, I had a 3D generalist do some work for me for my short film. He handed over his shots in SGI format and I couldn't figure out how to get them to work with Adobe Premiere (which was being used to cut the film)"