COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jamie McGeeGreen Screen Issues
by on Jul 31, 2015 at 4:56:12 pm

Hi All,
I have some experience with Green Screens, and my usual method is
Copy of keyed layer minus keylight filter underneath
Curves on bottom layer basic CC.

I have received some 4k footage from a SONY fs7 in an mxf format.
My initial thoughts were the footage looks a little milky.
When I try to key using my normal method, the key is very noisy and not very solid.
I am assured the camera guy was experienced in shooting green screen, and I am wondering if its something I should be doing with the footage prior to keying?
As its the first time I have worked with footage from this camera I want to be sure I am doing everything right.

I had some footage from a BlackMagic cinema camera the same day, different camera guy different shoot and I could have keyed it with my eyes closed, so I dont think I should be jumping through hoops if the footage is right.
Hopefully I have attached some stills and if you are quick enough some sample footage:

If I could get your thoughts on it, I would be greatly appreciative.
I am sure I am doing something wrong and am a little embarrassed about calling the camera guy out on it to be honest!
Any tips on workflows with the format would be great.

Jamie McGee

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Green Screen Issues
by on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:37:16 pm

Wow, that's pretty low-contrast footage. It's like the photog didn't know enough to open the iris.

You might try putting the footage in a nested comp, messing with brighness/contrast/saturation until it looks better, then opening the main comp and using Keylight on the nested comp.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Blaise DourosRe: Green Screen Issues
by on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:06:42 pm