ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How much would you charge for this?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Megan Denaut
How much would you charge for this?
on Jul 1, 2015 at 9:47:30 pm

I was asked to make something similar to this below for another author. I know after effects, now an expert so it'll take a little bit to create. For other video projects I usually charge $30 an hour so would that carry over into this? Or I was thinking a flat rate of $300. She sa new client so I've never done work for her before. Any help would be awesome. I feel like I always underprice myself.

Thank you!

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: How much would you charge for this?
on Jul 2, 2015 at 12:57:15 pm

Charge per hour, give a range of hours you think the project will take. 8-10, 12-16 hours, this is important and you need to get really good at estimating your time.

As far as price, 30 bucks an hour seems really low. That barely covers the cost of the you, not your equipment and utilities...Just my .02 cents, but you might want to rethink your pricing model.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
ThinkCK

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Megan Denaut
on Jul 2, 2015 at 3:25:45 pm

Thank you! See I just do it freelance as needed right now so I really need to figure out prices. I feel when I charge what I would like, people don't move forward. So I feel like I'm pricing them out so I tend to shoot low.

So is $50 an hour better or more than that?

Thanks for your input!
Megan

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
on Jul 2, 2015 at 3:39:15 pm

I haven't freelanced in a while, but 50 seems reasonable, you might ask around a bit, talk to others in your area.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
ThinkCK