ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Issues with Play/Stop using spacebar in after effects cc 2015

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brady Mills
Issues with Play/Stop using spacebar in after effects cc 2015
on Jun 30, 2015 at 6:15:13 pm

I am not a huge after effects user, so forgive my limited knowledge. I am an editor and I am used to the functions of premiere mainly.

In AE I am used to playing and stopping through a project sequence using the space bar to play and stop the sequence. With AE cc 2015 the space bar will start playing the sequence, yet when I hit the space bar again to stop the cursor on my timeline, the cursor wont stop and continues to play, if I hit it a third time it stops. Just wondering if this is a new feature to cc 2015.

With premiere I am used to starting and stopping using the keyboard, is there a better method to start and stop through a timeline that I am not familiar with?

My issue is with CC 2015, with previous versions of AE I never had this issue.

Let me know if this makes sense or if you need more info. Thanks.

Return to posts index

Daniel Waldron
Re: Issues with Play/Stop using spacebar in after effects cc 2015
on Jun 30, 2015 at 6:52:41 pm

I have the same issue. This article and the linked section on previews should help clarify. Scroll down to the section on stopping a preview with the space bar... It will definitely take some getting used to.

Return to posts index

Brady Mills
on Jun 30, 2015 at 7:08:15 pm

Looks like that solved the problem, that answer was in that article you shared. Thanks a bunch.

You just need to change the "preview favors" option to "length" instead of the default option of "frame rate".

Return to posts index

Michiel van Haren
on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:54:28 am
Last Edited By Michiel van Haren on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:55:25 am