ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

start/stop/loop nested animation / composition the smart way? (like in flash?)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael Paulstart/stop/loop nested animation / composition the smart way? (like in flash?)
by on May 29, 2015 at 5:12:48 pm

Hello I am a Flash Animator who also uses Adobe After Effects. Now in Flash I can loop Graphic Clips (they work like compositions. I can animate the position of a graphic clip while the entire graphic is looping or then I can let it display just ONE so it holds that frame or I stop the animation.
Is it possible to have so much control over a composition in After Effects?

Here is what I am doing and what I have done and I feel like the way I did this is HORRIBLE and there must be a BETTER more elegant way:

I have a composition of a hand holding a pen that's drawing around. It's just 2 keyframes where I have animated the rotation and then I've added an expression (PINGPONG) to that rotation so that it loops.

Then I put my "movinhhand.composition" into my main composition and animated it's position over a piece of paper so that it goes to a position and then it starts drawing something. Of course I do NOT want to play the animation of the hand moving drawing around yet because it isn't drawing yet but moving around on the piece of paper. SO I added a freeze frame to it so that no animation gets played. The still (because of the freeze frame) of that arm/hand with the pencil moves to the position where it's supposed to start drawing then I CUT my composition in half / split it with CMD SHIFT D and I remove the freeze frame from the new duplicate/layer of my hand animation so that the animation will start playing.