ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Expression control - Layer Control

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tiago Cav
Expression control - Layer Control
on May 4, 2015 at 11:11:19 am
Last Edited By Tiago Cav on May 4, 2015 at 11:19:07 am

I am new to After Effects, I tried to use all the effects of "expressions control" but I could not use the "layer control" can give me some sample application in a layer? That the "layer control" will be useful.
I want to make a layer is opaque with "100" every time I choose this layer the "layer control" and when I change the options in the "layer control" to another, this first layer go to be "0" opacity. Thus, every time the layer is chosen to be active in the option "layer control" the selected layer has opacity "100" and the other(s) "0". Is that possible?

One small question.
Is possible to use Show/Hide "Video" (eye) in the form of expression, rather than using opacity, could use the layer visualization directly?

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: Expression control - Layer Control
on May 4, 2015 at 11:45:03 am

[Tiago Cav] "I am new to After Effects, I tried to use all the effects of "expressions control" but I could not use the "layer control" can give me some sample application in a layer? That the "layer control" will be useful."

Any time an expression on a layer refers to a value from some other layer. For example, in Dan Ebberts's obscuration layer example [link], you could use a Layer control to allow the user to pick which layer to use as the obscuration layer instead of hard-coding it in the expression.