ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Trapcode Particular - sand heap animation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tim HildebrandtTrapcode Particular - sand heap animation
by on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:46:14 pm
Last Edited By Tim Hildebrandt on Apr 23, 2015 at 12:48:05 pm

Hello guys,

I am relatively new to Trapcode at all. For a new own project I need to animate some kind of a hourglass in 2D space.

So I thought about using Trapcode Particular for creating the sand streaming down to the bottom. All that is fine, but now I want to get a realistic shaped sand heap/pile bulding up as you would see it in real. I made this, but it doesn't look good at all (example #1).

Then I came up with the idea to use two paricular layers and give them two different floors with different rotations and let the particles slide down thoses layers (example #2). But this doesn't look realistic either.

How would you get this problem solved? Thank you for your help!

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Trapcode Particular - sand heap animation
by on Apr 23, 2015 at 4:14:35 pm

If the shape of the pile changed a bit as it grew, example 1 wouldn't look too bad. It also grows a little too fast.

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Tim HildebrandtRe: Trapcode Particular - sand heap animation
by on Apr 25, 2015 at 4:15:06 pm