ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Paths from AI to AE (and a few other questions)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James LewisPaths from AI to AE (and a few other questions)
by on Mar 30, 2015 at 1:15:41 am

Okay, I'm lost, frustrated and confused. Bit of background: I've been using Motion to create whiteboard-style animations for electronic circuit tutorials. I am not a graphic artist and everything I'm doing with Motion/Illustrator/After Effects is self taught. There are two reasons I'm trying to move from Motion to After Effects. 1) I do all of my planning/drawing in Illustrator anyway and 2) Motion is so buggy I can't stand it anymore. Oh and 3) I have CC so why not consolidate.

Here's what I'm trying to achieve with Illustrator and After Effects, which I use to do in Motion. I'd start by exporting my Illustrator art as PNG, then "trace" on top of that in Motion using its shape tools. Then on each shape I would apply Motion's Write-On Behavior. I'd then use that same shape to drive the motion path of my static hand/marker image, to give the writing effect.

First, I can't seem to replicate that same workflow in After Effects. Seems like I need to be using Stroke, but not quite getting there.

I hoped I'd be able to take my Illustrator document, import into After Effects, and then apply animation effects to the paths. I seem to have drastically over-estimated the simplicity of this workflow.

So far, it has completely escaped me how to import more than a single path from Illustrator to After Effects.

Here is the illustrator file I'm testing with.

It represents the kind of Illustrator drawings I'm working from, a relatively small number of simple paths. (Note, I've come to realize applying the brush in AI doesn't seem to make sense. And I've given up hope that I can import the brush I'm using in AI into AE, so I'll have to figure that out later.)