ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Morphing text from bold to regular?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Claire HeginbothamMorphing text from bold to regular?
by on Feb 27, 2015 at 6:51:17 am

Hi, I've been struggling with morphing a font from bold to regular, so far I've tried converting the text into shape layers and animating that, but the font (which I have to use) has joined section in bold that don't translate into regular. I saw a thread suggesting a linear wipe, but as far as I understood by testing it out, it will only transition not morph. At this stage the only thing I can think of doing is simply animating the opacity, which of course wont quite give me what I need.

Anyone got any idea's on how to do the morph? (magical code expressions will also be much appreciated and venerated!)

Thanks!
~Claire

p.s I'm new to CreativeCOW, please let me know if the format of my post is incorrect?

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: Morphing text from bold to regular?
by on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:04:29 pm

How about putting a stroke (in Layer Effects) on the regular font which matches, as closely as possible, the bold version, then doing a dissolve between the two? I can't imagine that a dissolve between a bold and a regular typeface would look so much different from a morph as to be very noticeable, unless, of course, it's happening very slowly, then you'd see the outline growing, rather than dissolving.

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media
http://www.bourkemedia.com

Return to posts index

Claire HeginbothamRe: Morphing text from bold to regular?
by on Mar 2, 2015 at 6:13:53 am