ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Greenscreen editing assistance needed

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David GoodwinGreenscreen editing assistance needed
by on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:46:42 pm

Hello, I'm a bit of a beginner with After Effects and I'm trying to key out the background for this video. I attach a still of the original shot. As you can see the problem is the original footage isn't as clear as I expected despite HD camera and the greenscreen is so badly wrinkled I can only pull a half decent key. Any advice on how to correct this? I used the preset Keylight spill suppressor and modified the values.

This is the original:

The result is grainy and takes fragments out of the foreground and vice versa.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Greenscreen editing assistance needed
by on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:56:53 pm
Last Edited By Dave LaRonde on Feb 13, 2015 at 7:47:50 pm

Ugh. That is one butt-ugly shot. Sorry, but it is. I wouldn't even bother trying to key that because of the many problems it has. The subject is out of focus. The background is wrinkled. There isn't any lighting... okay, the image is lit, but nothing that helps with a chroma key, that's for sure. The subject's too close to the background.

You need to give yourself a fighting chance at success. You need to re-shoot.

So here's what you do -- google the terms, "lighting for green screen" and "lighting for chroma key". You'll find some good advice on setting up a proper chroma key shot. Here are the basics in a nutshell:
  • Get the subject about 6-8 feet away from the background
  • Smooth out the background
  • Light the subject separately from the background... no lights on the subject spilling onto the background. They don't have be fancy lights, but you do need some. Or shoot outside, making sure the background is in shadow.