ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Basic text rotation problem

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Frazer AshBasic text rotation problem
by on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:58:18 am

I'm sure this is so basic and I'm going to kick myself when I finally find out what the issue is. That said, I'm new to AE so still finding my feet...

I'm trying to do a very basic text animation where each letter of a word swings into view one after the other, like a series of closing doors. The letters should be invisible at first and full front on by the end. I had the animated set as follows right now:

Animated: Rotation
Y axis: start: -90, end 0.0
3D Characters enabled
Anchor point grouping: character
Range: start - 0%, end - 100%

The animation itself is working as it should. What's driving me nuts is that at the start point, when each character should be invisible, some remain at a visible angle, i.e, not all at -90 degrees. I've tried adjusting the grouping alignments of the characters but this doesn't make a difference. Herre's a screen grab showing the beginning state of the animation and the various layer attributes:

Some enlightenment of what I'm doing wrong here would be majorly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Basic text rotation problem
by on Feb 11, 2015 at 4:34:25 pm

Well, the characters are in 3D space. AE sees them from the center of the comp. Go play with some Venetian blinds to see something similar to your situation.

Personally, Id make the animation as fast as possible and just cut to it as it begins. I think it would look okay. Speed covers a multitude of sins.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: Basic text rotation problem
by on Feb 11, 2015 at 5:05:51 pm

you could also add an opacity animator.