ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Proper workflow advice for difficult roto/track/key/matte/mask/

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matthew Wood
Proper workflow advice for difficult roto/track/key/matte/mask/
on Feb 9, 2015 at 1:36:46 am
Last Edited By Matthew Wood on Feb 9, 2015 at 2:06:59 am

EDIT--- i didnt mean to suggest that i havent yet tracked. I have. in mocha and AE... many dozens of times... i just dont know how to I guess have it end up maybe as a procedural matte???? or somethin

Hello, folks. So, here is the deal, veals... Over the last five years or so I have pretty much never posted a question to ya'll but i have gotten answers from you, many many dozens ot times, as this is always my first click after a google search. So thank you for the past help. I am an aspie and so this is out of my comfort zone.

I am not a professional compositer,, vfxr, editer, etc-terer, but I am far from a moob. But I am having roto issues and I am sure that tracking can solve it, I am just also sure that I have been going about it all the wrong way, due to missing maybe only one piece of info. Maybe more...

My task is roto-ing and or keying out fast moving foreground dancers from their backgrounds, which are generally shot with a tripod... Difference matting usually yields venus flytrap type resutls and only gets me so far. I have done color grading to enhance contrast at times, but I am always, always left with no more contrast left between the dancer/actor and multiple background elements.