ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Mac system requirements for AFX CC?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Neil OrmanMac system requirements for AFX CC?
by on Feb 7, 2015 at 4:02:49 pm

I'm fairly new to AFX CC and trying to do things like 3D titles, but when I try they're looking blurry and bad (at least in RAM Preview), and I'm wondering if it's a case where my system isn't adequate for the program. I'd be grateful for any insights here. I'm on a PowerMac purchased in 2011, although I think it's a 2010 model, running OS X 10.9.4, and these are the other main specs:
Processor 2 X 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory GB 1066 MHz DDR3

Also, when I start up the program, I get the following warning message:
'Ray-tracing on the GPU requires an approved NVIDIA graphics card and CUDA 5.0 or later. For now, ray-tracing will use the CPU.
After installing CUDA 5.0 or later, restart your computer.'

If my system isn't adequate, is there anything I can do to make it so that won't cost thousands of dollars?
Just let me know if more info is required to answer this. and thanks very much for any input here!

Return to posts index

Brian CharlesRe: Mac system requirements for AFX CC?
by on Feb 7, 2015 at 5:34:38 pm

If you are using Ray-traced 3D to produce the titles it may be that the quality settings are too low. Try increasing the number to 7 or 8.

Ray-tracing in After Effects has been replaced by Cinema 4D as the preferred method of working with 3D graphics.

Ray-tracing in After Effects can be accelerated in hardware with an nVidia graphics card that supports CUDA. If you do not have one of these there is no point installing the CUDA driver. Absent one of these cards the task of ray-traced processing falls to the CPU.

Your system is adequate, though you could purchase a CUDA graphics card to improve Ray-tracing speed.