ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How will adding a Thunderbolt SSD drive to my later 2012 iMac make After Effects run faster?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Will Heine
How will adding a Thunderbolt SSD drive to my later 2012 iMac make After Effects run faster?
on Feb 6, 2015 at 10:14:04 pm

I am a motion graphics editor and would like to get better speed from my late 2012 iMac with a 3 TB Fusion Drive.

I have three (hopefully quick) questions for any of you experts out there:

1. Does the Fusion drive in this iMac always run the iOS and apps on the ssd part of the fusion drive?
2. If not, is there a way to make that happen?
3. If I add an External Thunderbolt 512GB SSD Drive, will I get a significant boost in performance by keeping the files (video and images) on the SSD, or would After Effects need to reside on the new SSD as well?

I would really appreciate any help in the best way to go about this.

Thank you!

Will H.

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: How will adding a Thunderbolt SSD drive to my later 2012 iMac make After Effects run faster?
on Feb 8, 2015 at 10:48:17 am

[Will Heine] "1. Does the Fusion drive in this iMac always run the iOS and apps on the ssd part of the fusion drive? "

Technically no, but generally, yes. It tries to optimize storage so that the most-accessed items are stored on the SSD.

[Will Heine] "2. If not, is there a way to make that happen?"

You can split a Fusion drive into two separate volumes, one on the SSD and one on the mechanical HDD:

http://www.macworld.com/article/2015664/how-to-split-up-a-fusion-drive.html

[Will Heine] "3. If I add an External Thunderbolt 512GB SSD Drive, will I get a significant boost in performance by keeping the files (video and images) on the SSD, or would After Effects need to reside on the new SSD as well?"