ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Graphics tablet - quick recommendation on which Wacom to get?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sophia SmolokaGraphics tablet - quick recommendation on which Wacom to get?
by on Dec 1, 2014 at 2:24:49 pm

Hi,

I'd like to get a graphics tablet for various uses: photo editing, drawing (for hobby purposes), and editing.

I've never used a graphics tablet before so I'd like to know if I'm best off starting with an Intuos Pen and Touch (small) which I can get for £60-70?

Or do I search ebay for a good deal on an used Intuos 3 or 4 (small or medium)?

I've tried the Intuos Pen and Touch in store and quite liked it - I think it could really get into it and I'm sure it's a good way of avoiding future wrist problems.

I can't justify a current Pro version because of the price. If I really come to love the tablet, I'll probably buy into that eventually.

So basically: for starting out purposes, will an entry level tablet do what I need or will I come to want a more pro version soon, especially if I use it in AE? I know it's hard to know which is why I'm hoping to get some thoughts on it by people who've got experience.

Thanks!

At home I'm on a 13" Macbook and at work I'm using a PC with two normal sized displays (so, no giant monitors for me).

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Graphics tablet - quick recommendation on which Wacom to get?
by on Dec 1, 2014 at 2:48:20 pm

If you can find an Intuos 4 Medium for a good price, I'd say go for that. The more reasonable size of the surface will trump any newer features on the current generation (in my opinion, of course).

The larger the tablet's surface, the more you can use your elbow and shoulder to move the cursor and the less you have to use your wrist. I find this leads to much less strain.

Walter Soyka
Designer & Mad Scientist at Keen Live [link]