ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

FCP > After Effects Workflow/Files

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Josh DekayFCP > After Effects Workflow/Files
by on Nov 12, 2014 at 5:28:40 pm
Last Edited By Josh Dekay on Nov 12, 2014 at 5:38:19 pm

Hey there,

I'm going to be creating some animated lower thirds graphics for footage that my coworker shot and edited. (He's a Software Developer and I'm a UI Designer by day, so a little help would be great).

He shot C Log footage with a C100, edited and color corrected in FCPX. My plan is to take this footage and build the lower thirds motion graphics on top of it in After Effects 2014. Perhaps add a soundtrack in Premiere Pro 2014.

Here are my questions:

- What file type should he send my way, exported from FCPX (see options in attachment)?
- When I export with Adobe Media Encoder, what is a solid option these days as far as codec/container file for web delivery?

The footage is Travel Channel-like, where different locations are shown off. I'm working on a 27"iMac with an i7 and a 3TB Fusion Drive. The total length of the video will be approx 2 mins.

Any other advice is welcome.

Thank you for your guidance!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: FCP > After Effects Workflow/Files
by on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:05:16 pm

I'm a little unclear on what you're doing: are you mating the animated lower-thirds to the video & rendering everything, or are you just rendering the lower-thirds?

If I'm doing the job, I'm rendering just the lower-thirds with an alpha channel. ProRes 4444. I'd let my buddy put them on the video in FCPX. I'd have him send the video to me in ProRes Proxy just to have something to look at. If they're multiple lower thirds, I'd render multiple animated files.

But that's me....

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index