ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Eraser Tool

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
ola sanda
Eraser Tool
on Nov 9, 2014 at 5:24:56 pm

Hi there :)

When I erase in a layer, using the eraser tool, the erased area is active in all the frames.

I have moving objects in the layer and I therefor want to erase areas frame by frame.

In the Effects Panel "Effects/Paint/Compositing Options/ Effect Opacity" I can keyframe it from 100% to 0%, and do this for every erasing, frame by frame, but it takes a lot of time.

I'm pretty sure, there must be an easier way, so that the erased area only is active ONE frame and then I erase again next frame etc. etc. Can someone please assist ?

Needless to say I'm brand new to AE ;)

Ola

Return to posts index

Roland R. Kahlenberg
Re: Eraser Tool
on Nov 10, 2014 at 7:31:13 am

When the Eraser (or any Paint Tool) is selected, the Duration pop-up menu allows you to select the duration of each stroke that you input. Select the option that best meets your needs.

HTH
- Roland

TypeGEMs - the Definitive Type Gizmo for AE
http://broadcastgems.com/typegems/

Intensive mocha & AE Training in Singapore and Other Dangerous Locations
Adobe After Effects CC ACE/ACI
Imagineer Systems (mocha) Certified Instructor

http://www.broadcastgems.com/mographintensity_shapestext/

Return to posts index

ola sanda
on Nov 10, 2014 at 4:46:07 pm

Thanks a lot Roland ! :-)

Ola

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
on Nov 10, 2014 at 5:31:29 pm

You can also see and modify the extents and durations of paint strokes by selecting a layer in the timeline and revealing the contents of Effects > Paint, or by using the shortcut PP (select a layer and quickly press the P key twice to reveal its paint strokes).

Walter Soyka
Designer & Mad Scientist at Keen Live [link]
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting