ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Critique my 3D Spaceship Composition (Be Harsh, Please!)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Todd DaviesCritique my 3D Spaceship Composition (Be Harsh, Please!)
by on Nov 5, 2014 at 6:09:43 pm

So, I've modeled, textured, and composited a 3d spaceship into some footage. I will be using this as a clip in my reel.

Please note, I'm an editor, not a 3d modeler but I'd like to add this to my reel to show that i can play with color, 3d comps, and 3d models (maya).

Please be harsh and tell me if there's any room for improvement with the compositing. The model is just the best I can do so I'd mores like advice on the compositing.

Here's the video:

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Critique my 3D Spaceship Composition (Be Harsh, Please!)
by on Nov 5, 2014 at 6:27:00 pm

Page not found

Sorry, there is no video here.
Either it was deleted or it never existed in the first place. Such are the mysteries of the Internet.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Bobby YarsulikRe: Critique my 3D Spaceship Composition (Be Harsh, Please!)
by on Nov 5, 2014 at 7:18:58 pm

The ship look like it was composited pretty well, as far as being obscured by haze in the distance. The rotation animation of the ship looked like 1 fps when the camera zoomed in though, not sure if that was on purpose.

Also, the movements that you put into the camera, I would probably add a little rotation too to give it more of a natural feel.

If you look up the QHQ Stop Motion tutorial, and download his scripts, (follow the tutorial, it's literally required to use the scripts the right way).