ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Where do I start?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Marcelo ComerlatoWhere do I start?
by on Aug 23, 2014 at 4:31:33 am

I graduated a few months ago with a Bachelor's degree in Convergent Media (video production), but I don't have a demo reel to present when I apply for jobs, nor do I have any content from college to use.

So how should I go about getting experience to make a demo reel? I know trying to use home-shot footage is very amateurish and I want to stay away from that route(not to mention I do not have a professional grade camera).

I have experience(from college and self-taught) in production, filming, and editing, and I have experience with Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects pro. But without a demo reel, I feel as if I have no proof.

And I very much want a job with video production, it's my passion, and, frankly, student loans are piling up as well as other bills so I cannot stick with a low paying, menial job much longer.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Return to posts index

Jim ScottRe: Where do I start?
by on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:39:15 pm