ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Best Workstation Computer Build for Animator

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rachael CurryBest Workstation Computer Build for Animator
by on Aug 4, 2014 at 3:40:13 pm

Hello there!

I am a freelance animator / video editor and need to upgrade to a new machine. My budget is ~$2,000.
Programs I use: After Effects, Cinema 4D R13, Premiere Pro CS6, and Photoshop. I don't usually have to render severely complicated scenes in Cinema, but would like it to run much more smoothly than my Macbook pro (2.53Ghz, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA Geforce 256Mb Graphics Card, 500GB hard drive)

Dell Precision T1700 Small Form Factor Workstation
Processor: Intel Xeon Processor E-3 Quad Core 3.50GH Turbo, 8MB with HD Graphics
Operating System: Windows 7, 64 bit
Ram: 16 GB 2x8gb 1600 MHz DDr3 Non ECC
Graphics Card: 2GB NVIDIA Quadro NVS 510
Hard Drive: Raid 0, 256GB SSD x2

^$2300 with 3 year pro support. This build is a tad over my budget.

My questions:
1. RAM - Is ECC really that important or can I settle for non ECC?
2. Raid - I have 2 SSD's setup for Raid 0, do you think this is absolutely necessary or could I settle for one SSD, no Raid?
3. Is this setup the best for the price?
4. Am I getting the most out of a workstation computer with this build?
5. Does anyone have any criticisms on any of the above?

Thanks in advance!!!!

Rachael

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Best Workstation Computer Build for Animator
by on Aug 4, 2014 at 5:21:51 pm

Rachael, if you search through this forum, you'll see lots of advice on system builds.

Generally speaking, I think you're spending money on stuff you don't really need here.

Xeons are necessary for multi-processor configurations, I wouldn't recommend a Xeon CPU for a single-processor system. Go for a lower-cost, higher-speed i7 CPU.