ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects: prores 422 conversion codec for best results in removing green screen and expotr to FLV alpha

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Haris BerbićAfter Effects: prores 422 conversion codec for best results in removing green screen and expotr to FLV alpha
by on Jun 7, 2014 at 4:50:54 pm

Hello to you all!

Recently I came to case when videographer used Prores 422 for filming model in front of green screen. Result is great image but enormous file size for 30 second clip ( around 1 GB ). For file transfer we should use Dropbox or Google drive and I would like to ask for help about best codec to convert from Prores 422 which should result in significantly smaller file size and still be able to have high quality video that I can put in AE and export in .FLV 720p without detoriated image quality.

I'm very new to Prores so is videographer and would appreciate simplest solution. We tried to convert one file for test and used H.264 with 8 bit depth and 65,000 mbit/s for 1920x1080p. Result was .mp4 file with 14 MB size, very good quality image but when imported to AE and exported to .FLV, image was completely detoriated with pixelated artefacts...

So my Q is is there any good solution when downgrading prores 422 to another codec and what should be the best bit depth and bit rate?

Thank you all,

Haris

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: After Effects: prores 422 conversion codec for best results in removing green screen and expotr to FLV alpha
by on Jun 9, 2014 at 2:18:28 pm

You don't really want to compress green-screen footage too heavily. Using compressed footage makes it much harder to pull a clean key with good edges.

ProRes is a good choice in terms of quality. You will not be able to retain that level of quality without some file size.

If Dropbox is too slow, you might consider shipping a drive with the footage.