ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Partially obscuring objects on a path that appear/reappear

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michelle ChristenaPartially obscuring objects on a path that appear/reappear
by on May 25, 2014 at 11:45:06 pm

Hello there, I have a bit of a complicated issue with a project that I'm working on in AE. This is my first time using the program, but I'm a seasoned Adobe user. I have AE CS6. My project lays out like this:

I have a video of two guys tossing a "glowing orb" which is created in AE back and forth. They move it between their hands, behind their backs, and behind their bodies. I have my orb created and am working on creating the path that the orb will follow. The problem that I'm running into is masks. There are times when parts of the orb will be hidden because it's behind their hand or part of their leg. Other times, the orb will be completely hidden because it's behind their back or body. If I create a mask I'm not sure how to only have that mask active for the few seconds that it may be behind one of their backs before essentially becoming obsolete. Due to the complicated nature of the ways the orb needs to be hidden/visible especially partially I'm not quite sure how to handle this. If I could use an eraser brush for the orb for certain frames before it returns back to normal that would be perfect. After trying to find a solution on the internet, I figured I'd ask specifically. Thanks for your help!

Return to posts index

Darby EdelenRe: Partially obscuring objects on a path that appear/reappear
by on May 26, 2014 at 3:31:33 am

You have a few options for this sort of thing.

1) Keyframe your mask opacity.

2) Roto your subjects, place them in front of the orb layer and selectively mask or keyframe opacity.

3) Use the erase functionality of the brush tool.