ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE with a cheap tablet?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Engin Osmanovski
AE with a cheap tablet?
on May 22, 2014 at 12:39:35 pm

Hello,

Can a cheap tablet such as Wacom Intuos Pen & Touch CTH-480 (Small) help us in our paint/clone/rotoscope workflow in AE (or say Mocha) considerably? I know the Intuos Pro or Cintiq series definitely can but i am an amateur and my budget is limited. Is it worth buying an Intuos CTH-480 for the job?

Here is a link to the product i mentioned: https://store.wacom.com/us/en/product/CTH480/

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: AE with a cheap tablet?
on May 22, 2014 at 12:49:11 pm

Bigger is better, it's nice to be able to have some programmable buttons too, but I think any tablet is better than a mouse. We have tablets at every edit/graphics station in the office, and most of us use tablets at home.

As someone who once had to rotoscope enough football & basketball players for a 30 second spot---way back before rotobrush, don't use a mouse. 1 eight hour shift and your wrist will be killing you, not to mention 4 days straight.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
on May 22, 2014 at 2:04:20 pm

In my opinion, it's be worth the extra hundred dollars to step up to the medium size. Small tablets and high-res screens can be frustrating.

I started on a small Graphire (now Bamboo) before moving to medium Intuos (now Intuos Pro). I'd go back to a mouse before I'd go back to a small tablet.

If you're really on a budget, Monoline makes some dirt-cheap tablets. I have no personal experience with them.

Walter Soyka