ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Comp Settings & Lossless

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Robby Monk
Comp Settings & Lossless
on May 20, 2014 at 7:33:20 pm

I am a beginner in the video world. I just learned how to spell DSLR - that is how young I am in this industry.

The footage I am shooting seems a bit soft (not sharp), and I am not sure if I have my comp settings set correctly and/or rendering out my footage properly.

I shoot with a Canon 7d. I shoot at 1920x1080 (24fps) and have my comp settings at HDTV 1080 25. When I render, I am using Quicktime with MPEG - 4video.

Is this correct or am I a complete idiot with the wrong settings?

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: Comp Settings & Lossless
on May 21, 2014 at 12:54:23 pm

[Robby Monk] "The footage I am shooting seems a bit soft (not sharp), and I am not sure if I have my comp settings set correctly and/or rendering out my footage properly."

Are you sure the footage itself is sharp? Depending on your lens choices, your depth of field may be very shallow, which makes maintaining tack-sharp focus very challenging.

[Robby Monk] "I shoot at 1920x1080 (24fps) and have my comp settings at HDTV 1080 25. When I render, I am using Quicktime with MPEG - 4video."

Why the frame rate difference between your footage and your comp?

Also, I'd suggest dumping QuickTime/MPEG-4. For general use, I'd suggest you instead render with the lossless preset, then use Adobe Media Encoder to make an H.264 MP4.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Robby Monk
on May 21, 2014 at 1:04:28 pm

Thanks Walter. No clue why I was off with the frame rate and my comp. Chalk that up to my stupidity.