ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

converting frame rate from 29.97 to 15 in After Effects CC on Mac OSX

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sean Platt
converting frame rate from 29.97 to 15 in After Effects CC on Mac OSX
on May 15, 2014 at 2:23:24 pm

Hi. I am relatively new to After Effects (6 months going) and have only worked in 15 frame rate with the exception of one file which is 29.97. Now I need to convert the 29.97 frame rate file to 15 after the file has been built. These files are entirely flat illustrator art imported to create a 1 minute animation. Is there a way to convert the frame rate without messing up all of the timing? Or do I need to rebuild the file? Saw another tutorial about frame blending maybe helping this (not familiar with frame blending) but the effect shown in the tutorial was not something I thought would look right with the style of animation being more flat and crisp. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: converting frame rate from 29.97 to 15 in After Effects CC on Mac OSX
on May 15, 2014 at 2:53:56 pm

[Sean Platt] "Now I need to convert the 29.97 frame rate file to 15 after the file has been built. These files are entirely flat illustrator art imported to create a 1 minute animation."

Just open the composition settings (Ctrl+K on PC, Cmd+K on Mac) and change the frame rate to 15. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

[Sean Platt] "Saw another tutorial about frame blending maybe helping this (not familiar with frame blending) but the effect shown in the tutorial was not something I thought would look right with the style of animation being more flat and crisp. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you."

Frame blending applies to video assets. If you're just animating still assets, you don't need to worry about frame blending.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live