ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

ram +ssd vs video card

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Salem Saberhaguenram +ssd vs video card
by on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:35:27 pm

Hello. First of all i apologize for my english. It's not very good... (and i hope i'm posting this in the right forum)

I'm a student from argentina.
I started working as a freelancer by making short opening titles for videos, slideshows and stuff like that
THe thing is while the rendering in my pc is horrible... my main problem is that when i make a heavy composition (let's say using particular, optical flares, and more than 30 layers of stuff) after effects becomes unusuable... it's like: click - wait - scroll - wait - click - wait.
And i wanted to make an upgrade to my pc...
I work with a

processor: I7 3770
mother: gygabyte g1 sniper m3
ram: 8gb gskill sniper 1600mhz
psu: coolermaster 500w (i know it's not powerful)
video: ati radeon HD 6850
HDD: 1tb WD 7200rpm black + 500 gb wd 5400rpm blue

i have the opportunity to either upgrade my video card to a 7870 or put 16gb extra ram+120gb SSD to my build. I've beeen reading a lot in forums but i wanted to be sure... If i upgrade ram and ssd... will after effects work more fluently?

i think it's important to say that i use 2 monitors (usually one with after and another with youtube or something like that, but i tried with one monitor only and the problem doesn't go away) and that i use this pc for everything... i know it's not the best idea but here we have taxes to technology, and our currency isn't worth much (imagine every component price multiplied by 7-10... that's the price we pay for tech stuff) so i can't afford 2 pcs... (so using a solo-nvidia quadro pc is kinda out of the question for the moment)...