ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

character animation - DUIK, parenting problem?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matthew Lowecharacter animation - DUIK, parenting problem?
by on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:56:39 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to After Effects, I've been using it for a month or so (CS6). I have been voraciously reading/viewing tutorials, and I'm currently working on a basic character animation, and trying to use the DUIK inverse kinetics script.

I have the script installed correctly in AE, and have been trying to follow FAMOS' DUIK tutorial. My current project has a character I drew directly in AE with separate shape layers for the main body parts (head, torso, R and L upper arms, R and L forearms, R and L hands, pelvis, R and L thighs, R and L calves, and R and L feet). I set all the anchor points for these body parts at the point of rotation for each part. I parented each layer/body part according to the video tutorial and Rob Bellon's infographic. Using the DUIK script, I created nine controllers (master, head, shoulders, torso, pelvis, right hand, left hand, right foot, left foot). I parented these controllers according to the tutorial and infographic as well. Sorry for the long setup, just trying to explain how I got to my current state.

My problem is this - I select the left foot, then the left calf, then the left thigh, and finally the controller for the left foot. I then use the DUIK script to create an IK. At this point, the IK is created, but when I try to move the leg as a whole using the controller, the leg does not stay connected to the pelvis...the entire arm moves around the composition when I move the controller around. The same thing happens with the arms, etc.

I saw a similar post to this in these forums, and the suggestion was to pre-comp each layer. I have tried to play around with this but still am not having any luck.