raytraced text doesn't reflect light properly

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jens Mock
raytraced text doesn't reflect light properly
on Apr 3, 2014 at 3:35:54 pm
Last Edited By Jens Mock on Apr 3, 2014 at 3:43:06 pm

hi guys,

I encountered some inconsistencies how raytrace-3d letters reflect lights in my project; since I'm new to that I'm looking for some hints where to start looking

The set up is the following:
I created some lines of text flying towards the camera and passing it by on the right side. Due to lack of DOF in raytrace-3d I precomposed each line and added a fast blur to the precomps to mimic that a little.
The scene has two lights, one ambient and a spotlight that is slowly moving in the distance - illuminating the face of the letters

The rendering showed that randomly single letters are flickering - not reflecting the light correctly - for just a frame and than switching back to normal.
I first thought about shadows that the letters are receiving from above but that wouldn't match for the the topline (and not for just one frame duration)

The pictures show adjacent frames from the png-sequence I rendered out (progressive).

I think it's an adjustment-issue in the raytrace-3d settings and/or the depending settings on the text-elements, but I don't know where to start

------------------------
AE CS6
HD 1920 x 1080 / 25fps
raytracing 3d
I cranked up the ray-tracing-quality up to 10, left the anti-aliasing filter at box

any hint is appreciated, thanks in advance

Jens

the white lines are not part of the setting - I added them to point to the letter to look at ;-)

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: raytraced text doesn't reflect light properly
on Apr 3, 2014 at 7:05:52 pm

[Jens Mock] "I encountered some inconsistencies how raytrace-3d letters reflect lights in my project; since I'm new to that I'm looking for some hints where to start looking"