ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Color Space Managment/Linear Workspace Settings for .R3D Raw Grading in AECS6

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matteo Ferreccio
Color Space Managment/Linear Workspace Settings for .R3D Raw Grading in AECS6
on Mar 29, 2014 at 4:50:08 pm

Hi everyone.

I am new to RAW workflow, so I can't get some things to work properly.
Issues about footage interpretation and color space managment.

I am working with .R3D 4K files (exactely as shot, no RedCine-X or other intermediary grading) in a AECS6.

Project set as:

workspace: sRGB-IEC61966-2.1 (*as I work on a LED monitor set as sRGB and project output is mainly monitors/internet)

depth: 32bpc

Linearize Worspace

-------------------
All .R3D are interpreted as:

Color Managment:
Assigned Profile: workspace - sRGB-IEC61966-2.1 (Linear)
Interpret as Linear Light: Off

Other Options:
"As Shot", color space: REDcolor, gamma curve: REDgamma
-------------------

Here's the problems and the doubts.

In the "other option" RAW preview, footage looks right, regardless of external settings such as "Interpret as linear light" set on or off.

Externally, like in Comp View, the only way the footage won't look overexposed is to set "Interpret as Linear Light" as "Off", which I don't really think it's right, as I am working on linear space.

Plus, the only color grading I am doing is, of course, in the "other options" window which let you adjust the RAW data. But, once hit "ok", footage looks always different than in the "other option" preview on which I am doing the grading. It always appears to have a little more brightness and less contrast.

Can anyone help me with proper settings or give me some RAW workflow informations that could be helpful?

Thank you so much,
Matt

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: Color Space Managment/Linear Workspace Settings for .R3D Raw Grading in AECS6