ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Breaking Mocha Tracker Corner Pin Constraints ?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Usman PirzadaBreaking Mocha Tracker Corner Pin Constraints ?
by on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:42:36 pm

Hey guys, before i tell you my problem, i think i should tell you that i am an utter noob so baby steps will help! :D thanks alot!

Here is what i am trying to do:

I have a raw scene with a flat carboard attached to a handle held in my hand. Now i am mocha tracking it and it tracks perfectly however a problem:

1) it is restricted to the area WITHIN the cardboard, i dont want that.

I want it to be free of the restraints of that cardboard's border. Maybe a creating a null will help? but i dont know how to do that. Basically i am trying to put a gun in my hand and though the gun is coming, it is being cut and appears ONLY within the cardboard frame.

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: Breaking Mocha Tracker Corner Pin Constraints ?
by on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:27:11 am

You are very likely confusing mocha's Tracking Spline(s) and its Planar Surface. They are entirely different thingies that share one common, albeit huge, attribute in that the Planar Surface works/acts as a child of the tracking results that are obtained as a result of tracking.

Once you have completed a tracking task, you can set the Planar Surface's four corner points independent of the Tracking Spline as long as the Planar Surface is co-planar with the tracking splines - this is true for all 2D/2.5D planar tracking in mocha.

In your specific case, set the Planar Surface's corner points to your desired after tracking and then export the tracking results to AE.

Latest AE Workshop - MoGraph Intensity - Shapes & Text

Intensive mocha & AE Training in Singapore and Other Dangerous Locations

Adobe After Effects CC ACE/ACI
Imagineer Systems (mocha) Certified Instructor