ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

DNA Gel Electrophoresis animation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Omar EstradaDNA Gel Electrophoresis animation
by on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:50:19 pm
Last Edited By Omar Estrada on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:02:22 pm

Hi all!

I'm a visual artist and I'm working in an animation where I want to synchronize a "realistic" DNA Gel Electrophoresis run with a specific music.

The idea is to create a sequence of "genes" moving from A to B that, when a specific drum beats, brighten and change color while keeping moving.

Please, think in it as a sort of "DNA sound wave".

I checked in the Tutorials section and found several great ones, like how to create a DNA background, but I haven´t been able to figure out this migrating genes one, although it´s probably an easy task (I hope!:))

I will include a picture of a real DNA run, so you can see what I´m trying to achieve. More than a fancy DNA strand animation I´m looking for a slow pace realistic analog look, if this makes sense (I mean, the analog look of a real electrophoresis run in a lab rather than a super digital effects look).

I will keep searching for solutions but if some of the great experienced people who collaborates here have specific suggestions, I would love to follow them

Thanks a lot in advance!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: DNA Gel Electrophoresis animation
by on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:07:39 pm

There are tutorials around that show how to make an animated digital audio level meter, which looks a lot like your picture. I bet you can find one that will help you a lot.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Omar EstradaRe: DNA Gel Electrophoresis animation
by on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:13:01 pm
Last Edited By Omar Estrada on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:17:19 pm