ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

3d object in After Effects CS6 or CC

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul Grogan3d object in After Effects CS6 or CC
by on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:57:13 pm

Hi all, sorry for something that might be obvious, but I'm a noob and I'm getting really confused.

I want simply to have a 3d object which I bring into AE and rotate. Lets say for example the box for monopoly. I understand that the Live3d option from photoshop went after CS5.5, so that's ok.

I have CS6 and been trying to work out how to do it with no luck, so I downloaded a trial version of CC, which comes with Cinema 4D.

And I'm having no luck whatsoever. I've tried to watch some tutorials, but each one seems to do the animation is C4D, moving the camera, etc. I don't want that. I want to use AE to do all the animations, I just want a 3d object that I can manipulate, rotate and so on.

Can I actually do this with AE 6 or CC, or do I need another plugin? I thought C4D would allow me to do it.

Return to posts index

Jim ScottRe: 3d object in After Effects CS6 or CC
by on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:08:10 pm

Check out Element 3D by Video Copilot.

Return to posts index

Paul GroganRe: 3d object in After Effects CS6 or CC
by on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:45:53 pm

I did look at Element 3d, but... I'm an amateur. This is a hobby only really and I don't really want to do anything fancy. just simply create a 3d object and rotate it.

Is this possible with CC and C4D. I'm struggling with the video tutorials now, and it seems that once the scene is in AE I cant really do anything with it - all the rotations and animations I need to do in C4D, but I just cant see how I'm going to get this to work, since the rest of my movie is created in AE, but then I need to go somewhere else to do something. I'm just not sure how I'm supposed to get them linked together so it looks correct.

Return to posts index