ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Opinions on time needed for motion tracking smartphone screens

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jake mendezOpinions on time needed for motion tracking smartphone screens
by on Mar 6, 2014 at 5:19:08 pm
Last Edited By Jake mendez on Mar 6, 2014 at 5:37:19 pm

Hey guys, was hoping to get your opinion on this. I've been doing mo graph for several years commercially, but admittedly have not done a motion tracking job in a couple of years. I'm familiar with mocha so thats what I'll be using with AE CS6. A client needs several shots of a phone with the screen replaced with graphics later on. The shots are well lit and locked down, and will have a white image on the phone to help with tracking. They need many shots like this get the screen swapped, with shots being 10-15 seconds each, AND some would have finger interaction with the screen. My question to you all is, how long would you estimate each shot to take to comp up, and get tracked to a good place/roto hand. I know mocha is an amazing tool, but last time I tracked, it was with less than ideal settings so it took a LOT of tweeking.
So, if under these ideal conditions that client has described, what is a rough approximation of time you'd expect to spend per shot? I was told there may be additional shots needed down the line, so they wanted a ballpark of how long each 'tracked shot' would take for me to comp up should more be added in later.

I'm a mid-advanced AE user, but like I said its been a long while since I've needed to do image tracking, and dont want to shoot myself in the foot by telling them these can be knocked out like 30 minutes per shot. Advice and opinions? Thanks in advance.

Linked image to show how they will shoot the phone.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22394782/photo.jpeg

Return to posts index