ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Masked object disappears when i add element 3D effect to it ....

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steve George
Masked object disappears when i add element 3D effect to it ....
on Mar 5, 2014 at 2:57:53 am
Last Edited By Steve George on Mar 5, 2014 at 3:02:19 am

I'm relatively new to using after effects i am having a problem that i really can't get my head around.

1: I Import an EPS and use ray trace to separate the black background from my white logo, making sure i set the ray traced logo outline to a new layer.

2: With the new ray traced layer selected my logo is visible, i apply effect > element 3d to the layer and the text disappears (i will come back to this)

3: I go into element 3d, apply my bevel and material settings, click ok to take me back into after effects to find the logo is there, but very small and squashed ...

I have followed many tutorials and can't understand why this isn't working ?

I am using after effects CS5 on a Mac

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: Masked object disappears when i add element 3D effect to it ....
on Mar 5, 2014 at 11:21:23 am

[Steve George] "1: I Import an EPS and use ray trace to separate the black background from my white logo, making sure i set the ray traced logo outline to a new layer."

Do you mean auto-trace? Ray-tracing and auto tracing are very different.

[Steve George] "2: With the new ray traced layer selected my logo is visible, i apply effect > element 3d to the layer and the text disappears (i will come back to this)"

Element is meant to be applied to its own comp-sized solid. It has tools for referring to other layers.

[Steve George] "3: I go into element 3d, apply my bevel and material settings, click ok to take me back into after effects to find the logo is there, but very small and squashed ... "