ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Loss of quality when Scaling down an animation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Peter HuntLoss of quality when Scaling down an animation
by on Feb 24, 2014 at 7:03:07 pm

Hi all. I'm relatively new to animating in After Effects and I seem to be having a problem with the finished video.

I've made the animation in 1080p with the intent of embedding it in a website. I'm creating a site that will fit all screen sizes. I made the characters and assets for the video using Illustrator and Photoshop.

When I export the animated video, it looks as it should when viewed in full screen but when I shrink it down the outlines of my characters become quite jagged. I've no idea how to fix this.

You can see the difference here:

http://imgur.com/yZzBM9G

The left pic is when it's viewed in the normal window on vimeo or youtube and the right is at full resolution.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and I'd be happy to provide any other information if needed

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: Loss of quality when Scaling down an animation
by on Feb 24, 2014 at 7:30:11 pm

The export setting you're using will be critical to figuring out the cause of the problem.

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media
http://www.bourkemedia.com

Return to posts index

Peter HuntRe: Loss of quality when Scaling down an animation
by on Feb 24, 2014 at 9:16:06 pm

Thank you for your reply. Here's the settings I used

http://imgur.com/qgpG0tg
http://imgur.com/whJG95L

Return to posts index

Ridley WalkerRe: Loss of quality when Scaling down an animation
by on Feb 24, 2014 at 9:37:44 pm

Don't render to H.264. Render to a low, or no compression format such as Animation or one of the motion JPEG or PNG sequence.

Then transcode the rendered file to H.264 using Adobe Media Encoder.

Return to posts index

by on Feb 24, 2014 at 9:50:30 pm