ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Start/Stop layer in AAE

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bryan Neff
Start/Stop layer in AAE
on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:06:18 pm

This is a very elementary question - I'm very new to AAE. I work for a company that does video inspections of sewage pipes, and the cameras put information on their videos. Sometimes this information is entered wrong by the operators, and I have to go in and overlay correct information on top of the error. I do this by going into paint.net and creating the correct number, then adding it as a layer.

The incorrect information can sometimes move to different places on the screen, moving between often 3-4 places... but it can make this change many, many times in a video. Right now, every time it's displayed in a new location I hit ctrl+shift+d to add a new layer of the correct information, and move it to the appropriate place. This often ends up with many, many layers - but really I only need 3-4, because the information only moves over a few places.

Is there a way to just stop the layer at a point, then restart it later on the timeline? In my mind that seems very simple - I've done it with music in music editors in the past. I'd much rather just have a few layers that stop and start along the timeline then end up with 20-40 layers.

Just as a note.. I'm very beginner in this, and I don't understand the code I've seen on this forum - and don't really have the time to learn that at the moment. I kind of feel like there's some simple button/command I'm missing.

Thanks all

Return to posts index

Declan Zimmermann
Re: Start/Stop layer in AAE
on Feb 20, 2014 at 4:51:43 pm

Hello Bryan,

If I understand you situation correctly, it would work to have the layer just "turn off" for a period of time, and then resume later in the piece.