ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects masking

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lilli TranAfter Effects masking
by on Feb 17, 2014 at 3:36:14 pm

I am very new to After Effects so I don't know how to explain this clearly using the right terms, but here it goes...

I would like to animate a group of shapes which are PNGS (with transparencies) moving across the screen. However, I would only like for these shapes to be visible in a specific area. I want these shapes to only be seen when it passes through a circular viewpoint. I understand that I need to use a mask for this, but I was only able to do so if my background is a solid color or a set image. My bg currently consists of many complicated layers of jpegs. So in other words, I would like to know how to make a mask but the outside of the masks are transparent.

Thank you in advance. I apologize if my explanation is confusing.

Return to posts index

Lilli TranRe: After Effects masking
by on Feb 17, 2014 at 3:51:07 pm

UPDATE
So I just did some Googling and discovered the Alpha track matte. It is just what I want except it seems to only work on text or shapes draw in After Effects. Doesn't seem to work on PNGs :(

Return to posts index

Mark BurberyRe: After Effects masking
by on Feb 17, 2014 at 4:03:14 pm

i dont believe it should matter however you can always try this.

select all your jpgs hit ctrl+shift+c to create a pre comp then use the trkmat on that precomp.

Return to posts index

by on Feb 19, 2014 at 5:09:46 am

Yay, this works!! Thank you so much!! :)

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: After Effects masking
by on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:59:57 am