ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

After Effects - The next level!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt DavisAfter Effects - The next level!
by on Feb 14, 2014 at 4:38:50 pm

Hello all!

I've been doing After Effects off and on since CS2 but more seriously in the past 4-5 years or so. Mainly self taught, I've gone through a couple of good books on it, ran through most of the Video Co-pilot tutorials as well as another good YouTube channel called "ECAbrams".

I wanted to take a course a couple of years back, figured I was a more than comfortable with the beginner stuff so I took "Advanced After Effects". Due to the timing and small class size, they offered me a one-on-one training session over one day instead of two which I was thrilled by. Turns out I could have almost taught the class. Honestly, by the end of the class he was running through the effects folder to show me what each one does, to kill time to the end of class. I did that the first day I launched the software!

He did a good job teaching the material, but I'd done lots of compositing before, I'd done motion tracking it went by fast and at the end I was still waiting for the "advanced" part. I picked up a few shortcuts and tips maybe, but nothing worthy of taking a whole course.

Anyway, in spite of this I still don't feel like I know even half of what there is to know about this software.

Can anyone recommend resources or websites for learning more advanced stuff?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: After Effects - The next level!
by on Feb 14, 2014 at 6:05:29 pm

Do the AE equivalent of painting yourself into a corner and then trying to work your way out of it. Bite off more than you can chew, and rather than positing "how do I do this" questions here, go on a search to find the answers for yourself.